I read so many profiles on dating websites where ladies will have these ridiculous quotes to quantify who they are;

“I’m a perfectly, imperfect disaster.”

“If I wasn’t hard to love, I wouldn’t be worth it in the end.”

“If you can’t handle me at my worst, you don’t deserve me at my best.”

And so on. 

The irony in this situation is that if the tables were reversed, I *highly* doubt these “junkyard ideas” quoting ladies would feel the same. That is to say, I would venture to theorize that a man “at his worst” would send most of these ladies packing and looking for a new “Bae.” I don’t know where his ideology of not having to better yourself and being too lazy to enrich who you are came from, but it’s absurd. We are NEVER the perfect manifestation of who we could be, so to throw your hands up and say, “fuck it” because life is too hard and self improvement isn’t fun, well there’s a reason why these ladies are “working on me, for me, with me”. No one is perfect, but the journey towards that goal makes us stronger, smarter, kinder, and happier.

I, above all others, understand the value of continuous self improvement alone and in the social graces of my loved ones and peers. I understand that the world isn’t measured in our copious amounts of “don’t give a fucks” and is instead measured in our viability and functionality in this society. Even when society sucks, we owe it to ourselves and to our loved ones to constantly seek out self improvement and growth for the better enrichment of those around us. Instead of saying, “screw it, this is me and I ain’t changing for no one”, why not continuously look at mistakes from the past as see how you can better yourself because of them?

If you want to label this as a judgmental rant about why things aren’t the way I want them to be, so be it. Just speaking my truthful perspective on why the dating pool is getting shallower and shallower by the generation.

Deuces. ✌🏻